Tips for the Wizarding World of Harry Potter

IMG_4536

Rawr.

This has been the post that has caused me the most difficulty. I just do not know how to do this park justice. I want to paint a detailed picture of my experience and how I was so overwhelmed with awe I didn’t know what to do with myself. But instead I’ll just write a very mediocre blog post about it.

Tips:

Arrive early. And I mean it. I’m still not sure which park is better to visit first, but we chose to go to Diagon Alley first. We got to the park just as the gates were opening and we booked it to Diagon Alley, which Universal sneakily placed at the very far end of the park. You’ll be in awe over every little detail but you can’t stop! Get straight into the Escape from Gringotts line. There will be plenty of time for oohing and aweing later. We got into line pretty close to the front but within 10 minutes of opening the wait was easily over an hour or more.

IMG_4735

Skip everything else. LITERALLY everything else. Oh I’m sorry, are you a huge Simpsons fan and need to get a Krusty Burger or giant pink donut? Grow up. Just kidding, that was pretty harsh. What I’m saying is, spend as much time as you can in Harry Potter world before it gets too hot and too crowded. Then, if there is time, you can do everything else.

IMG_0291_2

The bright orange shirts in the back really complete this picture.

Get some butterbeer! This is seriously a must, no excuses. This would be like traveling to Bikini Bottom and skipping out on a freaking Krabby Patty. I am still craving the butterbeer I had and continually scour the internet for a good copy-cat recipe. I got the frozen version, which was a delicious butterscotch slushie. Summer got the cold version, which was also delicious and carbonated. Pro Tip: Everything tastes better in a souvenir mug.

IMG_4673

Nerds

Get the interactive wands. Okay, you might think these wands are stupid. Like I did. Before I bought one. It’s only $10 more and you’re already buying a $40 wand, might as well shell out the big bucks and have some fun! If you don’t get one, you’ll just be super jealous of all the little kids (and cool adults) doing some serious magic.

IMG_0277_2

I’m a natural. Look how poised I am.

Dress up!!!!! This is only a tip because I want more people to dress up at the park. That way during my next trip, I won’t look like such a nerd.

IMG_4653

If you buy a Pygmy Puff you can have a naming ceremony at Weasley’s Wizard Wheezes. As you can see in the video below, I was less than thrilled to be publicly on display, but I guess it would be fun for the right kind of weirdos people.

IMG_4568

I named my pygmy puff, Butthole.

Don’t miss the details!

IMG_4610

I am such a great photographer. And I didn’t even take AP Photo.

IMG_4579IMG_4747

IMG_4578

IMG_4555

IMG_4800

I wonder if wizarding textbooks are also a scam. Did Harry buy his copy of “A History of Hogwarts” for 20 galleons and then at the end of the year the school offered to buy back his copy for 2 galleons?

IMG_4798

Witches need to check Instagram too.

IMG_4799IMG_4533

IMG_4671

This park is magical and beautiful and reignited my love for Harry Potter. I could tell you that this park made me look deep inside myself and discover who I truly am. I could say that this wizarding world gave me the kick in the pants I needed to learn to love myself. I could say any number of ridiculous things that I learned during my day in Hogsmeade and Diagon Alley. I’m not ashamed!

Alas, I will just have to wait until they build Harry Potter world in Universal in California. I might actually get a season pass to Universal. *shudders*

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Leave a Reply

