DIY Faux Patches

c05efb29-6861-4b1a-b269-a12a60b49417

Last week I was pulling together the pieces for my Evil Queen Disneybound and I really wanted something with an apple or more specifically, a poison apple. Queue spooky music.

I had only a very vague idea of what my plan was when I went to my local Savers to find a black or red or white or purple purse. Like I said, vague.

Luckily, I found this great black backpack/purse for only $6 and according to the label on the inside it is “genuine leather.” It was little too “Middle-Aged Mom on Vacation in the 90’s” for me but I figured it was fine since I was going to destroy it with paint and sequins anyways.

But maybe I didn’t want to destroy it. It was a nice, plain, sturdy bag, after all. What if there was a way to temporarily decorate it….AND THERE WAS!

Here are my instructions for making the “patch” I pinned onto my backpack. It is nothing fancy or groundbreaking and took about 5 minutes, but I am very pleased with the results!

Supplies:

  • Craft Felt
  • Iron-On Dark T-Shirt Transfer
  • Bar Pins
  • Iron
  • Scissors
  • Glue Gun
img_1916

Ignore the dog hair on the felt

First things first, I printed out the image I wanted onto the t-shirt transfer sheet. You want to use the dark t-shirt transfer because they will have a white background. Don’t pick an image with too intricate of edges because you will have to cut it out eventually. You could also draw an image straight onto the transfer paper.

And don’t forget to follow the printing instructions for the transfers!! If I had a nickel for every time I messed up one of the SOBs…..

img_1919

Next, do a rough cut of your image.

img_1920

Again following the instructions for the transfer, iron your image onto your piece of felt. I used the stiff craft felt that you buy in paper-sized sheets at the craft store. I wanted my “patch” to have some structure so I needed a sturdy piece of felt. If you decide to glue or sew on your patch you could use the soft, flexible felt that you usually buy by the yard.

Once it has completely adhered, cut around the edges of your image. Finish it off by gluing the bar pins onto the back of the “patch” and you’re done!

Wow that was so easy! And it did the job! As soon as people saw my backpack they said “Ohhhh I get it.” This is definitely a technique I’ll be using for future Disneybounds or other fun Disney DIYs.

Thanks for reading folks and I’ll see ya’ll next time.

giphy

XOXO Sarah Ashlyn

Leave a Reply

